How to…

create an After Action Report and what tools are needed?

OK. As promised I will start a series of day by day tutorials about how to create an AAR and a small scenario for TOAW, incl. map making, forces, the lot.

Today we shall have a look what’s needed to create a solid AAR with tools most of you already got. The rest is available as open source; in this particular instance a free photo editing software called Photoscape. I am not a photo editing guru, but I found this piece of software easy to handle and it’s actually the program I used for my famous (infamous?!) Tutorial ’41 slides, too.

Naturally, there is no real guideline about the layout and or the contents in an AAR. Some CoSim enthusiasts are able to write gripping battle reports like some short story or novel! I try to visualise all the necessary information in my screenshots. Let’s pick a small scenario in TOAW in order to show you how I create the screenshots and how I describe the situation and/or the battle reports.

Below the first turn, no movement yet, but an overview of my forces, the situation and my intentions.

You probably already guessed that I used different colours to show the 2 formations at my disposal. Once the 113.Pz.Brigade is out of reorganisation my intention is to establish a line of defence and keep the Yanks in that sector busy. The recon element of the 111.Pz.Brigade races towards Lezey to see what’s in store on the other side. The rest of the Brigade will try to outflank the enemy (wherever he is) and capture one of the supply points.

If you click on the picture it’ll automatically open to full size.

To be continued…

1 Comment

Filed under AAR, Articles, Community

One response to “How to…

  1. Tom O'Carroll

    VERY helpful…I never have been able to illustrate my ideas, due to lack of software knowledge. Thanks!